Progress…Progress…Progress

Video of the third attempt of making shrimp dumplings:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16-u0B97CPKRJSD2ghCOzNzy_aj_X-VBj/view?usp=sharing

For this week’s Genius Hour, I wanted to get the wrapping for the shrimp dumplings to taste more authentic. Through past attempts, I found out that the dough isn’t tasting good because of the tapioca starch. I also found out that the tapioca starch keeps the dough together.

On the first attempt, I added 20g of tapioca starch and it resulted in the dough not sticking together. The second attempt, I added 60g of tapioca starch and it resulted in the dough being too hard and rather unappetizing.

For this attempt, I used 40g of tapioca starch. This resulted in the wrapper being more squishy and tasting way better. Fortunately, the wrapping didn’t break.

The filling on this attempt was not as flavourful as the last few attempts. For next time, I will add some extra ingredients including: onions, oil, garlic, and carrots.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mrs. Englot says:

    Onions and garlic make everything tastier (savoury things that is!_

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *